February 17, 2019

The Cryptozoologist Shop Update: Spring Fling

The Cryptozoologist is having an update today at 7 p.m. GMT (2 p.m. EST/11 a.m. PST). Once again we’re offering a host of vibrant and exciting colourways all in 100% British BFL/nylon sock yarn.

There’s a literary theme running across some of the yarns this time, with The Gracekeepers and The Gloaming both inspired by the enchanting books of the same name by Kirsty Logan. Since both novels are soaked in seawater and have strong LGBTQ+ themes, it seems fitting that both of these yarns support the Mermaids charity, which helps transgender and gender variant children across the UK. We will be donating £3 from each skein sold to Mermaids.

Elsewhere, new colourway Ketterdam is inspired by the city in Leigh Bardugo’s novels Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Leigh paints an industrial cityscape with a rich history, and accordingly Ketterdam is full of deep rusts and aged bricks, and speckled with soot.

Also making its debut this update is Velaris, which draws its inspiration from Sarah J Maas’ ACOTAR trilogy. Velaris is also known as the City of Starlight, and this deep rich blue yarn is evocative of clear nights spent watching the stars emerge as Twilight fades into dark. Sally we can’t provide you with your very own Rhys!

Away from the pages of fantasy works – we do have a life outside of books, honest! – there are new colourways in the form of Somnus Flower, a bewitching blend of lavender and aqua accented with pops of pink and yellow, and Roseate, a bright and joyful yarn bringing pinks together with mustard, greens and browns – just the thing for a spring shawl or sock project.

So whether you want to escape to a fantasy realm as you knit, or just pick up a pretty skein or two, why not have a poke about at The Cryptozoologist’s newest additions?

So many indie dyers. One email.
Subscribe to the weekly newsletter and stay on top of it all!